Border Gavaskar Trophy 2023: Wasim Jaffer picks India’s starting eleven for the second Test against Australia

After winning the first Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) 2023 by an innings and 132 runs, India will now lock horns with Australia in the second fixture of the four-match series from February 17 onwards in Delhi. Ahead of the second game, India’s former opener Wasim Jaffer has picked up the host nation’s starting eleven for the upcoming clash.

Earlier, Jaffer had also predicted India’s eleven prior to the first Test that took place in Nagpur, in which he left Axar Patel and picked Kuldeep Yadav instead. But now, after Axar’s exploits in the first match, the 44-year-old former batter swapped his choices.

This time Jaffer dropped KL Rahul and assigned Shubman Gill the position of the opener. He also picked Shreyas Iyer in his eleven at the fifth batting spot as he replaced Suryakumar Yadav, who made his Test debut for India in the opening game of the BGT 2023 against the Aussies.

Notably, Iyer couldn’t play the first Test due to a lower back injury. However, the Mumbai cricketer has been declared fit by the medical team of the Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) for the forthcoming match.

Jaffer’s other pick as batters ahead of the second Test included Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli and KS Bharat in the wicketkeeper-batter role. Meanwhile, the pace attack in his starting eleven included Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj.

The heroes from India’s historic win in Nagpur, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, also made it to the Jaffer’s team for the second clash.

On the other hand, fast bowler Mitchell Starc is also expected to make a comeback in the Delhi Test for the Australian side, as he was seen bowling at the nets in the practice session, while Josh Hazlewood’s inclusion in the team is still doubtful.

Notably, Australia are already 0-1 down in the series and would look to level the lead in the upcoming game.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *