India bowl and bring in Shikha Pandey; England unchanged

Toss India chose to bowl vs England

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur won the toss and put England in; this is the first time England will be setting a target in this World Cup. Harmanpreet’s decision was because of the possible rain around, which will likely assist seam bowlers getting to bowl first.

For that reason, India brought in experienced seamer Shikha Pandey for legspinning allrounder Devika Vaidya. Pandey had returned to international cricket with the recent tri-series in South Africa. She bowled in two of those games but went wicketless. Harmanpreet said they had to pick up their bowling performance because it had been a “concern” earlier.

England went unchanged from their win against Ireland in Paarl five days ago. Captain Heather Knight said they also wanted to bowl first because of the conditions but had “no problem” in batting first. She said they wanted to get “sharper in the field”.

This will be the first match in Gqeberha for both teams, where Australia have won their both games while chasing. India had won both their games in Cape Town whereas England have come here after being unbeaten in Paarl. The ground had slightly uneven square boundaries – one was 57 metres and the other 62.

India will be through to the semi-finals if they win tonight but the same won’t be the case for England.

England: 1 Sophia Dunkley, 2 Danni Wyatt, 3 Alice Capsey, 4 Nat Sciver-Brunt, 5 Heather Knight (capt), 6 Amy Jones (wk), 7 Katherine Sciver-Brunt, 8 Sophie Ecclestone, 9 Charlie Dean, 10 Sarah Glenn, 11 Lauren Bell

India: 1 Shafali Verma, 2 Smriti Mandhana, 3 Jemimah Rodrigues, 4 Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), 5 Richa Ghosh (wk), 6 Pooja Vastrakar, 7 Deepti Sharma, 8 Radha Yadav, 9 Shikha Pandey, 10 Rajeshwari Gayakwad, 11 Renuka Singh

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *